The Hobo Dissed My Bagel!

Que pasa readers,

It’s Gabby here and I’m back.

In 2016, I took a break from blogging as I was focusing on my first year at the Fashion Institute of Technology. It’s been a ride…but it hasn’t been easy. Let’s just say that I learned a lot about myself and what kind of person I want to become.

Moving to New York City was my dream and I made it happen last fall when I transferred to FIT. Everything was new: the people, the view, the lifestyle, the food, the parties, the fashion and the pace.

Let me start out by saying that the nice girl will struggle adapting to the city unless she grows some thick skin (aka ME). In NYC, everything is fast paced. Crowds of people swarm the streets and random old dads will yell “fuck off” for absolutely no reason. They’ll also bump so hard into you to the point where your chipotle goes flying across the street (actually happened) and you wonder for days if you should get your shoulder checked. The streets will smell like actual shit for no exact reason. And what’s the reason behind this? There is no reason.

Exactly. You can’t take anything personally or you will drown in melancholy. You absolutely cannot trust everyone you talk to and you probably don’t want to give your half eaten bagel to a hobo or they will find it offensive & yell at you in gibberish (also happened).

If you’re a girl, ALWAYS AVOID EYE CONTACT. I’m kidding…but you know what I mean. Just learn to run in heels. I call this talent. And speaking of heels, don’t ever borrow your roommate’s heels if you plan on walking a long distance one night to and from your dorm. It will hurt just as bad as stepping on legos. We all know that pain. But add walking 20+ minutes up & down NYC to that.

How did this turn into an advice post? I have no idea but that’s how my brain works. But despite everything I’ve said, NYC has not lost its spark. It was there when I visited for the first time in 2010, and is still more astounding than ever. The feeling that anything can happen is always in the air every morning. Everyday is “Another Day of Sun” and another day to see the beautiful city, people and seize the vast amount of opportunities. There will never be an ordinary day in the city and that is what I love about it. Diversity is here and the world is here. It’s amazing. As long as there are city lights, I will never stop chasing my dreams. I am already looking forward to another semester of great experiences, laughter, learning and bonding with the great people I’ve met.

Hope you enjoyed reading & there are more posts to come.

Love, Gabby

 

Leave a Reply

